THE CHESHIRE UNION
The Cheshire Union: A Unique History
Built in 1915, The Cheshire Union was constructed as part of a merger of several one-room schoolhouses scattered throughout the Hamlet of Cheshire, NY. This new, consolidated schoolhouse, featured four classrooms on the upper level that were used to teach eight grades and a full basement on the lower level. As years went by and enrollment grew, classes and teachers changed to accommodate the variety of interests of the students at the school.
A full woodworking shop was added to the lower level, the first school band was established in 1936 and choir was also added to the list of options available to students. The Cheshire Union continued to serve students through the early 1950s. It was at this point the residents of Cheshire petitioned the Board of Education to allow their students to option to attend Canandaigua Elementary or continue their schooling at Cheshire Union. The petition was approved and over time, enrollment at Cheshire Union decreased along with the number of grades/classes being served. Ultimately, the school was closed in 1954 and the building remained empty for over two decades before it was sold to John and Barb Rose in 1975.
It was John and Barb that brought The Company Store, an eclectic country-store and deli, to the lower level of Cheshire Union. The upper-level schoolhouse was renovated and the classrooms were converted into the Cheshire Union Gift Shop and Antique Center, which is still in operation today.
The building and the businesses within have changed hands a few times since then with each new owner adding their own flair. The Brundage family purchased the property in 1984 with daughter Liza Barnum running the day to day operations. Most recently, Benjamin and Mary Green, both previous employees of The Company Store, completed the purchase of the property in late 2018.
Today, this historical and unique landmark is still home to the charming gift shop featuring local artisans and handmade items, The Company Store, and the most recent additions of The Artist's Loft and The Rusty Brundage Memorial Art Gallery.
The Cheshire Union Gift Shop and Antique Center can be found upstairs of The Company Store in a charming renovated schoolhouse. Filled with a truly unique selection of antiques, gifts including Lang products and over fifty Local Artists with handcrafted jewelry & products.
Come see what the Cheshire cat is grinning about!
Monday – Saturday 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Sunday: 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Major Credit Cards Accepted
Free Gift Wrapping